Juicing & Training

Okay, so yesterday and the day before were the first two days of a three day juice detox plan from Soulmate Food. I’ve decided to be a bit whacky and save the last days worth of juices until next Tuesday. This is for two reasons:

1) Hunger: nausea, light-headedness, exhaustion. I’m not new to this. I’ve done this exact same juice plan before, except on the 5-Day regimen, so this should have been a breeze. But I was basically sedentary when I did it before, and while it says on the little flyer that you should do some “light exercise” while on your fast, I think they mean do some yoga or jog a slow 5k not run 5 miles. Yesterday I went for a run in the morning and then I went shopping in Croydon Centrale Mall in the afternoon and between those two bouts of light exercise, I was so exhausted, I couldn’t even sing through my songs for the concert when I got home. I basically just lay in bed doing nothing for the next several hours until I could get to sleep – which took forever, in spite of how tired I was because the hunger pangs started in at 8:00 pm. This morning I woke up and thought I was going to puke.

2) The whole reason I’m doing this fast this time is because I’ve got a mermaid photoshoot up in the Lake District next Wednesday. My eating habits have been appalling the last couple of weeks, so I wanted to shed the water weight I was carrying, clear up my skin, and reset my appetite. I’ve basically done all of that, so I’ll use the last day of juices on Tuesday (the day before my shoot) to flush any water weight I may or may not have, and to nourish myself without any solid foods that may hang around in my tummy and bloat me the next day.

In the meantime, I’m using the LoseIt app to keep tabs on my caloric intake until the photoshoot. I’ll aim to have about as many calories as you get on the Soulmate Juice Detox (1200), but just in solid foods. And maybe a little bit more on days when I’ve got to train – definitely a bit more tomorrow, when I’m scheduled to run 15 miles because I’ll burn about that many calories just on my run! (My 13-mile run the week before last cost me about 1,145 calories, according to MapMyRun.)

Next time I do any sort of a cleanse, especially a juice one, I’m going to make sure it’s during a period when I don’t have to do any sort of intense cardiovascular activity. Maybe I’ll do one when I’m going through a yoga-kick…

Leave a Reply

