The Weekly Cool Down: Microwaved Apples, Bubble Baths, and Guided Meditation

Welcome to The Weekly Cool Down: a weekly feature where I try non-running activities that are otherwise good for the mind, body, and/or soul!

This week was the opening week for our show – much like the last week of rehearsals, last week, it was a crazy one… Only even more crazy. And it involved a monster of a hangover that I will be discussing with anyone who will listen to me for weeks to come.

So, for the second time in two weeks, this weeks Cool Down is much more about cooling down from life than it was about cooling down from running (which I did once this week… once.)

Anyway, first I made the world’s easiest dessert/breakfast: Microwaved “Baked” Apples.

Microwaved “Baked” Apples (For When You’re Just Too Lazy To Turn The Oven On)

  • 1 apple (I used a Pink Lady apple)
  • About a tablespoon of water
  • A small handful of raisins
  • Maple syrup to taste
  • A sprinkling of cinnamon

 

Core the apple carefully with a knife. Keep or remove skin, as desired.

Place on a microwave-safe plate and sprinkle with water. Microwave for 1-2 minutes, until apple softens.

If there is still water on the plate, tip it out.

Stuff hole in apple with raisins. Microwave for an additional minute.

Sprinkle with cinnamon and maple syrup.

 

2013-05-26 20.41.37

2013-05-26 20.42.19

When I finished my snack, it was time for a bubble bath with candles…

2013-05-26 21.23.10

(I bet you’re jealous, aren’t you?)

2013-05-26 21.23.27

And then I laid out in the living room and listened to a guided meditation (Dashama’s Guided Meditation as part of the 30 Day Yoga Challenge package), but I have to admit I dozed off quite a lot – proof that it’s been a tough week and I’m ready for sleep.

Time for you to unwind with a snack, a bubble bath, and a mental inventory, now! Get the meditation I used at 30dyc.com, or find one of many useful meditation videos on YouTube!

Time for me to catch some zzzzz’s! Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

