Happy Monday!

I’m currently eating breakfast #2 (porridge with honey, if you’re curious), after a long run this morning!

Had to stop several times within the first mile to faff about with my hair. I put it in a stupid bun this morning and it kept bloody falling out. I think I need to Google methods of keeping very thick, very long hair under control! Mine’s a nightmare.

Got nearly to the second mile, and suddenly I needed to pee! I always go before I go for my run, but I guess I didn’t get it all out this time. I wasn’t going to run 2 miles back to my place with a full bladder, so I very cheekily ran into Beckenham Junction rail station and used their customer toilets. How am I going to run a marathon without needing to stop and pee? Adult diapers?

Surprisingly, all this constant stopping didn’t hurt my pacing too badly. Obviously, it wasn’t as good as usual, but I was expecting to be somewhere in the 9 minute range and was pleasantly surprised. Maybe this means my “comfortable” distance running pace is getting slightly faster all on its own.

I kind of felt like running for longer than I did, but my feet were slightly achey and I’m afraid to push it too far until I’ve had a proper shoe fitting/pronation determination thingy. The last thing I need is to get injured because I ran for too long in the wrong shoes. Once I know I have the right shoes, I won’t be so nervous about achey feet.

Yoga stretches and long sit in a hamstring stretch to finish up. I really felt those hamstrings while I was running today. They want to get short. No way, Jose! You guys are getting a good stretch!

The Run Disney website posted pictures from the Everest Challenge that took place a few days ago. I am so excited. I just want to be there, running, meeting new friends, and spending time with my family in freaking Disney World.

Only 35 weeks, 5 days, 19 hours, and 42 minutes to go…

Stats:

Distance: 15.76 km

Duration: 2:02:08

Split Pace: 7:45 min/km

Fuel: 1 c Shreddies and soya milk

Music: Into The Woods (Original Broadway Cast)/Sweeney Todd (Broadway Revival)

Disney Quote of the Day: “You got to dig a little deeper… Dig down deep inside yourself, you’ll find what you need. Blue skies and sunshine, guaranteed.” – Mama Odie, The Princess and the Frog

2 thoughts on “Happy Monday!

  1. Hi Amanda – I find that I can keep my hair under control if I use a ponytail holder, pull it trough 3 or 4 times so that it’s tight but on the last pull don’t pull it through all the way so that the ends of the ponytail are caught under the band. Might work for you. My hair is very thick and medium long (about 2″ below shoulder length.)

  2. I might just have to get better ponytail holders! I can pull it through twice, but on the third one, the pony tail holder snaps! I did get them at the Pound Shop to be fair!

Leave a Reply

