Should you run when you’re sick?

I’m sick! 😦 I never get any of the major illnesses, but I catch every single bloody cold that I come into contact with!

The silver lining on this crap cloud is that it gave me an important running topic to Google research (Gooesearch? Resoogle? Somebody portmanteau that shit!). Is it helpful to run with a cold, flu, or similar virus?

This article, http://www.runnersworld.com/health/should-you-run-when-youre-sick?page=single, was particularly informative. Lot’s of people suggest using the “neck rule” as a gauge: if your illness is above the neck (sore throat, runny nose, sneezing), you’re probably safe to do a bit of (light!) running. If your illness is below the neck (chest cold, fever, muscle soreness, chills), stay in bed! Running with achey muscles can lead to an injury, resulting in more time off training. Running with fever or any kind of a respiratory or sinus infection can lead to worsening symptoms, and in worst case scenarios pneumonia or respiratory failure!

And, interestingly enough, too much running can actually weaken the immune systems defenses. It is a well-known fact that regular exercise improves immune system function, but runners who run 60 miles or more each week actually double their chances of getting ill. So, if you’re a runner and you find yourself constantly getting sick, try dropping your weekly mileages below 60.

As for me, I am feeling severely fatigued, muscle achey, and a bit dizzy and feverish, so I am going to play it safe for now and postpone running again until tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Should you run when you’re sick?

  1. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Very useful information particularly the last part 🙂 I
    care for such information much. I was looking for
    this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and
    best of luck.

Leave a Reply

