It is May the 1st…

…it is now past the time when seeing my breath in the morning is acceptable. Get it together, Britain.

This morning was a morning when it was a good thing that I’ve got a cause (and a $170.90 registration fee) to keep me motivated. Not that I felt particularly tired, just that I’ve got a lot of things I need to do, and on days like this it’s easy to let your other stuff take priority and never make time for the training. But, I’ve set myself a goal that I have to fulfill, so I got out there in the chilly, polluted, vaguely-marajuana-scented world that is an early morning in South London.

Of course, once I got around to the run itself, the feeling was addictive. I wanted to keep running, but I have got to get ready for a rather full-on day. I altered my “medium”-length route, though, to be slightly longer than it was before. Now it’s 9.5 kilometers, on the nose. I’m going to take that one from now on, instead of the old one!

Thoughts whilst running: summer is on its way. I think I’ll get a vintage style bathing suit and some slutty shorts this year. If one of the perks of doing this marathon is going to be sexy legs, I’m gonna get those bad boys out.

Also have been discovering how much of a physical effect negativity and positivity have on the body. When I’m feeling like I can’t be bothered any more and really want to pack it in, my muscles tense, my stride feels heavy, and I feel winded. The moment I start to think about how much fun I’m going to have at the WDW Marathon, and imagine running through the parks, and meeting other runners, and being cheered on by all of the supporters, my muscles relax, oxygen floods my brain, and I instantly feel lighter and my stride becomes quicker. It’s important physically to keep your mind focused and enthusiastic.

I really wanted to run yesterday, but I think it’s good that I had a “rest day”. You really do need them! I felt much lighter on my feet today than my last run!

Stats:

Distance: 9.5 km

Duration: 1:06:10

Split Pace: 6:57 min/km

Fuel: Overnight Oats (1/2 c plain oats, peanut butter, banana)

Music: Disney’s Greatest, Vol. 1/Now That’s What I Call Disney

Disney Quote of the Day: “And once you’ve heard that word, there ain’t nothin’ you can’t do! So let that positoovity work for you!” – Scuttle, Disney’s The Little Mermaid: A Broadway Musical

4 thoughts on “It is May the 1st…

  1. Wonderful blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?

    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a
    paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any tips? Cheers!

    • Thank you!

      I’d say start with something free like WordPress! Lots of bloggers use it, which makes following other blogs much easier, and there’s always the option to upgrade your WordPress blog to a dot com address!

  2. A motivating discussion is worth comment. I believe that
    you should write more about this topic, it might not
    be a taboo subject but typically people do not discuss such topics.
    To the next! Cheers!!

  3. hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve definitely picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise some technical issues using this web
    site, as I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I could get
    it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK?
    Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality
    score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and
    could look out for much more of your respective intriguing content.
    Ensure that you update this again very soon.

Leave a Reply

