Hello, I’m Amanda.

I’ve never done any kind of a distance run in my life

This one time, I went for a run outside and within five minutes a bird pooped on me.

I swore I’d never run outside again.

But this year I just got an itch – to do a marathon. Just once. Just strike that one thing off of the proverbial “Bucket List”. Just prove that I could achieve something unexpected.

Then I met a little boy. He was suffering with a terminal illness. A co-worker and I were recruited through work by Starlight, a foundation that fulfills wishes for dying children, to help make his greatest wish come true. I was touched by the strength and spirit of his family, and by the incredible work done by Starlight.

So in honor of that little boy and hundreds of thousands of other children just like him all over the UK and the world, and in the name and in aid of Starlight and the Make-a-Wish Foundation, I am going to be running a marathon in the place where every child’s wish comes true: Walt Disney World.

Stay tuned because over the next nine months, I’ll be posting regular updates on this blog, YouTube, Facebook, and Twitter about my progress and training in preparation for the Walt Disney World Marathon Presented by Cigna. I welcome your support and encouragement because it’s going to take me a whole lot more than “faith, trust, and pixie dust” to get me over that finish line! And if you would like to sponsor me and the charities I represent here is the link: http://virginmoneygiving.com/whenyouwishuponastar

That’s all for now! To quote Mickey Mouse: “See ya real soon!”

Leave a Reply

